The European Microkelvin Platform



The European Microkelvin Platform (EMP) is an advanced European Infrastructure providing access to ultralow temperatures near absolute zero, and sensitive measurement techniques, with a particular focus on quantum technology and quantum materials.We are pleased to announce the award of almost 10 million Euros to the EMP funded by the European Commission within the call H2020-INFRAIA-2018-1 (project number 824109).

Central to this four year project is the provision of access for experimental researchers to the unique low temperature infrastructure formed by the EMP consortium, a “European ultralow temperature laboratory without walls”. This access will drive forward progress in the study of new phenomena, new materials and new devices. Bringing together academic, industrial and technical leaders will amplify the innovation potential thatthese developments will produce and accelerate their impact on the wider society. To enhance this impact EMP will train European students, scientists, and cryo-engineers working at ultralow temperatures and will disseminate the technical advances, the scientific results and the knowledge base of the EMP.

About the consortium:

The EMP is a consortium of 17 leading partners in Europe in thefield of ultralow temperature physics and technology, The EMPrepresents an Advanced Community that evolved from the European MICROKELVIN Consortium(2009-2013)which was funded under FP7 integrating activities.The EMP project and EMP consortium is coordinated by prof. Dr. Christian Enss of Heidelberg University, Germany. The core of the EMP consortium consists of eight access givingacademic institutions, offering a varied and comprehensive portfolio of experimental expertise and facilities. These are: Aalto University (Finland), Basel University (Switzerland), CNRS Grenoble (France), Heidelberg University (Germany), Institute of Experimental Physics, SAS Košice (Slovakia), Lancaster University (United Kingdom), Royal Holloway University of London (United Kingdom), and Technische Universität Wien(Austria).

The technology partners: Physikalisch – Technische Bundesanstalt, Berlin (Germany), VTT – Technical Research Centre of Finland (Finland) and Chalmers Technical University (Sweden) and the industry partners: Basel Precision Instruments GmbH (Switzerland), Bluefors Cryogenics Oy (Finland), CryoConcept (France), Leiden Cryogenics (Netherland), Magnicon GmbH (Germany), and Oxford Instruments (United Kingdom) provide a baseto exploit technological innovations and the forum for the transfer of scientific knowledge to wider applications.


Bottom view on “Kosice” nuclear demagnetization facility capable to reach microkelvin temperature range.

Author of the press release: RNDr. Peter Skyba, DrSc.

Mobil: +421907946291